Ireland have been announced as the fourth team that will compete in the New Zealand Quadrangular in March, following the UK’s withdrawal last month. New Zealand announced Ireland’s involvement this week and Ireland are expected to announce their team in the next few weeks. Ireland had a disappointing, and really at points slightly unlucky World Cup in 2011, finishing 7th, having lost two matches by golden goal. They will see the New Zealand Quadrangular as a chance to make amends for that and to climb back up the world rankings.

The New Zealand Quadrangular is taking place at Turangi from the 28th to the 31st of March.New Zealand themselves have said that they will name their Quadrangular team on the 17th of February, they have already named Errol Gloyn as their coach for the tournament. The other two teams competing in the competition are Zambia and Australia. Australia have already named their team for the competition (click here for details) and Zambian are expected to do so shortly.

The withdrawal of the UK and Ireland replacing them means that all of the eight top polocrosse nations in the world will be in international action in 2013, as South Africa, Zimbabwe, the UK and the USA are competing in another Quadrangular in South Africa in July. There is also the International Challenge taking place in Holland at the end of August which will see Holland compete against teams from Germany, France and Norway, with other teams still to be named.