As the UK prepares to kick off the 2018 season, the 2017 league results were finally announced at the UKPA World Cup fund raising ball on the 10th of March at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Nottingham, along with the other UKPA annual prizes. The results were kept secret until the winners were announced on the night but now we can reveal the full league results for 2017!

In the main league, for which the Janet Jones Memorial shield is awarded, Kent Target won for the fifth year in a row, a very impressive achievement and showing that even in a year where they struggled to win as many grades at the National championships they are still the dominant club in UK polocrosse.

Kent’s winning margin was less than 2016, Celyn nearly got within 100 points of them (approximately 6 grade placings) but Kent still did enough to win, with a total of 511 points for the year. Celyn were on 406 points in second, identical to the score they achieved in 2016. Both clubs scored points in every grade but Kent dominated in the A grade, scored slightly more points in the B grade and also picked up more points across the junior grades, particularly the intermediate juniors. Celyn, meanwhile, scored better in the C and D grades but it was not enough.

In third place were Arden with 308 points, with Cotswold close behind on 281, in what was almost an exact reversal of their points scores in 2016, when Cotswold took third and Arden fourth. Cotswold scored the majority of their points in the senior grades, while Arden were more reliant on their Juniors.

Rugby finished in fifth place, just three points behind Cotswold, with 278 points. This was the same position they finished in 2016 but with an improved score.

In the Points per Player league, for which the Polocrosse Extreme cup is awarded, it was a first ever league win for Limemere Sparks. Limemere amassed 198 points but with just 13 players that meant there was a score of 15.22 points per player, a very good score, which put them in a comfortable first place. In second place were last year’s champions Highlanders, who only managed 8.18 points per player. As in the previous year, Highlanders scored all their points in the A grade, while Limemere picked up a good number of points in the Junior grades, as well as scoring well in the D grade.

Kent were very close behind Highlanders with 7.98 points per player and then came Celyn with 7.66 and Arden a little further back with 6.84.

Taking each grade in turn, it was Kent who claimed the most points in the A grade with 136 points. Highlanders and Cotswold fought out a close battle for second and third with 90 points and 85 points respectively.

Kent also won the most points in the B grade, accumulating 82 points throughout the season. Celyn were close behind with 71 points and again Cotswold were in third spot with 59.

In the C grade it was Celyn who ended up with top spot with 98 points and Kent came in second with 74. Rugby were in third spot with 50 points, just two points ahead of Arden with 48.

Rugby were the comfortable top scorers in the D grade with 121 points, quite a way clear of Limemere in second with 75 points and Celyn in third with 52.

Rugby were also the highest points scorers in the E grade as well, with a total score of 66 points, compared with Cotswold’s 46. Eastern Pennine were slightly further back with 34 points.

In the Open Junior grade it was Arden who were top scorers by a large margin, scoring a total of 143 points. They were a long way clear of Limemere Sparks, Celyn and Three Counties, who were bunched up on 45, 40 and 37 points respectively.

In the Intermediate Juniors it was once again the turn of Kent to top score, with 90 points. Celyn were second with 33 points and Limemere third with 26.

In the Primary Juniors there was a dead heat between Celyn and Kent on 70 points each. Just behind them on 64 points were Arden’s primary Juniors and slightly further back were Limemere with 52 points, in what was a highly competitive grade all season.

Well done to all the teams and we look forwards to seeing how you all do in 2018!

To view the full league results click here.

In addition to the two league trophies there was also the other annual UKPA prizes to preset. These saw a number of very deserving UKPA and Pony Club Members rewarded for their efforts promoting, growing, coaching, representing and playing the sport in 2017!  Well done to them all and keep up the good work in 2018!

Full list of prize winners from the UKPA Ball:

Charles Mason Trophy

Presented to a non-player who has contributed significantly to polocrosse during the year and is not an executive member

Tom Simkin (Celyn Polocrosse Club)

Laura Millington Memorial Trophy

Presented to a Pony Club and UKPA Member who has contributed significantly to the sport

Sophia Harpin (Cotswold Polocrosse Club, Llangeinor Pony Club and Wales Home International team)

Minter Strover Trophy 

Presented to an Under 16 who has contributed to the sport both as a player and an ambassador for the sport, their club and the association

Hugh Ralli (Cotswold Polocrosse Club, Ledbury Pony Club and England Home International team)

Chapple Shield

Presented to the most improved player

Rebecca Davies (Arden Polocrosse Club)

Player’s Player of 2017 

Katie Loutsiou (Celyn Polocrosse Club, North Warwickshire Pony Club and England Home International team)

Player’s Umpire of 2017 

Chris Milburn (Arden Polocrosse Club)