Rugby took place on the 12th and 13th of July at Rugby’s home of Onley Grounds under glorious sunshine. Cotswold claimed a one two in the A grade as their men’s section just overcame their ladies’ section in the Final. It was very close throughout but in the end the men just edged it and emerged victorious. Emily Walsh won best lady player and Jono Keen won best male player (editor’s note: and we are pretty sure we heard him whisper to Emily “Think how good our children will be” at the presentation ceremony).

In the B grade the Welsh Dragons overcame Arden, despite Arden’s attempt to drag it back in the last chukka. In the Upper C grade Welsh Dragons also got the win with Ledbury in second place. In the Lower C grade it was the north Wales club Celyn who emerged truimphant as they overcame Kent who finished second.

In the D grade it was again Rugby who claimed victory for a third time already this season, this time they defeated a Chiltern team in the final. Nick Johnson had a very successful weekend as he claimed best male player and best horse (editor’s note: Well his horse did!)

In the Junior grade the two teams in the final were a combination of different clubs and the mixed team called the Oranges overcame the Apples. Finn Bristow of Rugby was awarded best male player while Alex Vickers of Celyn won best lady player and her horse Arwen also got best horse.

In the Primary Juniors Ledbury overcame Rugby in a hard fought battle. Josh Smith of Ledbury had a great weekend and it was he who claimed best player and best horse.

Full Results

A Grade
B Grade
Upper C Grade
Lower C Grade
D Grade
Primary Juniors
1st Cotswold Welsh Dragons Welsh Dragons Celyn Rugby Oranges Ledbury
2nd Cotswold Arden Ledbury Kent Target Chiltern Apples Rugby
Best Horse

Dita (Emily Walsh, Cotswold)

Morocha (Natalie Cameron, Arden) Tequilla (Chris Milburn, Arden) Alexa Holland  (Celyn) Nick Johnson (Rugby) Alex Vickers (Celyn) Josh Smith (Ledbury)
Best Female Player Emily Walsh (Cotswold) Natalie Cameron (Arden) Hayley Marsh (Ledbury) Anna Tarbuck (Celyn) Aisling O’Sullivan Darcy (Chiltern) Alex Vickers (Celyn)  
Best Male Player Jono Keen (Cotswold) Lewis Parr (Welsh Dragons) Laurie Cam (Welsh Dragons) Fergal Egan (Kent Target) Nick Johnson (Rugby) Finn Bristow (Rugby) Josh Smith (Ledbury)